Sunday, January 22, 2012

the problem with the stages of grief

* Denial (this isn't happening to me!)
* Anger (why is this happening to me?)
* Bargaining (I promise I'll be a better person if...)
* Depression (I don't care anymore)
* Acceptance (I'm ready for whatever comes)

But I think, as my sister N suggested when we went through so much with G, that I am in denial all the time every day. I refuse to think anything BAD is happening. It's the foundation of my optimism. But sometimes something bad does happen and it pierces the surface of my delusion. Then I'm having a crisis of identity because I can't admit that anything is bad, there must be some positive way to look at this.

I've got my happy face on Les.

1 comment:

vtricia said...

This is one of those things where you choose whether you're going to treat it as a big deal or not, and you'll run into a wide range of responses. Even having lost a newborn baby, I have met people who minimized my loss relative to losing a child that you've actually gotten to know. Weird, huh? And I've known people who've never had children don't understand how it could be as bad as losing a parent or a sibling. So I always give people a pretty wide berth in their range of response, including non dramatic responses.